It’s graduation season at local high schools as members of 2019 are about to receive their diplomas.

Information on commencement ceremonies at Bridgman. New Buffalo and River Valley follows:


Graduation ceremonies for 63 seniors will be held at 1 p.m. Sunday, June 2, at the high school.

In 11th grade this class had the highest M-Step Index Score in Berrien County. Bridgman High School was third in Berrien County for SAT scores and has one of the highest graduation rates in Berrien County. The current senior class has an 85 percent FAFSA completion rate. Seven Bridgman students who competed at the state competition in Detroit earned their way to compete at the DECA International Career Development Conference in Orlando.

The girls cross country team won their fourth straight conference championship. The girls and boys cross country teams qualified for team state finals. The girls swim team won their first conference championship and the softball team recently claimed first place in the BCS Red Division.

Bridgman’s class officers are: president, Kaitlin Essig; vice president, Sam Polym; secretary, Hannah Lundin; and treasurer, Connor Blesy.

High School The top 10 seniors are: Connor Blesy, Seth Francher, Jacob Kaspar, Mackenzie Knowlton, Hannah Lundin, Evan Moyer, Diana Nielson, Savannah Tate, Andrew Tellez and Sidney Wheeler.


River Valley High School will hold commencement exercises for 29 seniors at 7 p.m. Friday, June 7, in the River Valley High School gymnasium.

Principal Patrick Breen will be the speaker.

Twenty percent of the senior class has a 3.5 grade point average or higher, and 44 percent of the class has taken advanced courses or college credit. Twenty-eight total Advanced Placement exams were taken by the class of 2019. The first Early/Middle College student is graduating from Lake Michigan College this year.

The Mustangs’ 2018 football team went to playoffs while the boys track team won the BCS White Division title.

Class officers are: Delayna Morrow, president; Jarod Volstorf, vice president; and Kira Kelley, secretary.

Joshua Clark, son of Brad and Heidi Clark, is valedictorian. He plans on attending Lake Superior State University to study fisheries and wildlife management.

Jessie Rieth, daughter of Richard and Deborah Rieth, is salutatorian. She plans to attend either Calvin College or the University of Michigan.

Other members of the class’s Top 7 graduates are Madison Vollman, Delayna Morrow, Chase Ehlert, Dalton Noftsger and Jared Brown.


New Buffalo High School will hold commencement exercises for 44 seniors at 1:30 p.m. Sunday, June 2, at the New Buffalo High School gymnasium.

Seventy-three percent of seniors have at least one college class in their schedule.

Some of the institutions the seniors of 2019 have been accepted to include the University of Michigan, Michigan State University, Ferris State University, Central Michigan University, Grand Valley State University and Indiana University.

The boys basketball team was district champion, while the girls volleyball and girls track teams were conference champs.

New Buffalo’s 2019 Senior Scholars are: Sarah Baughman, Riley Cain, Bailey Ferrell, Maxwell Folino, Olivia Haskins, Andrew Hofstetter, Lucy Johnson, Alexis Moser, Libby Price, Alilyn Purcell, Jacob Smith, Marissa Tavernier, Joseph Turcotte and Emma Wolf.

The school recently held a Senior Honors Night during which the following scholarships and awards were announced: New Buffalo Education Association Scholarship, Tannah Nieman; Robotics Awards, Colin Bendiner, Daniel Fairchild, Bailey Ferrell, Joseph Turcotte, Alexander Schmock, Jacob Smith and Andrick Villa; Environthon Awards, Riley English, Alexis Moser, Blake Newton, Alexander Schmock, Jacob Smith, Joseph Turcotte, Andrick Villa; State Science STEM Endorsements, Riley Cain, Alexander Schmock, Jacob Smith; DAR Good Citizen Award, Maxwell Folino; Lake Michigan College Scholarships, Olivia Haskins, Fatima Ortega; New Buffalo 2019 Art Honors, Jessica Hewitt, Alaina Maniscalco, Alexis Moser, Emma Wolf; Terence Joseph Mulvihill Scholarship, Libby Price, Joseph Turcotte; Heart of Cook Scholarship, Joseph Turcotte; Peer to Peer Awards, Haley Andre-Grzywacz, Sarah Baughman, Riley English, Olivia Haskins, Jessica Hewitt, Joshua Kaminski, Morgan Motycka, Blake Newton, Tannah Niewman, Ben O’Donnell, Fatima Ortega, Jaidyn Parmley, Libby Price, Alilyn Purcell, Colbie Robertson, Brady Stambaugh, Andrick Villa, Marissa Tavernier, Ayla Ward; New Buffalo 2019 Radio Awards, Riley English, Maxwell Folino, Andrew Hofstetter, Althea McGreehan, Benjamin O’Donnell, Annabelle Yanz; Michigan Blood Donor For Life, Daisy Fox, Andrick Villa; Michigan Masonic Charitable Foundation Scholarship, Marissa Tavernier; The Brandon Biolette Memorial Scholarship, Jessica Hewitt, Blake Newton; New Buffalo Service League, Kaitlyn Biela, Riley Cain, Daniel Fairchild, Maxwell Folino, Morgan Motycka, Libby Price, Alilyn Purcell, Annabelle Yanz; Building Trades Awards, Colin Bendiner, Daniel Fairchild, Jordan Hoadley, Michael Mark, Blake Newton, Nathan Snyder, Brady Stambaugh, Brenden Stark, Hunter Thompson; Berrien County Career and Technical Education Award, Brady Stambaugh; AK Smith Career Center Awards, Haley Andre-Gryzwacz, Kaitlyn Biela, Jessica Hewitt; Center for Creative Solutions Scholarship, Kaitlyn Biela; The Pokagon Fund Scholarships, Kaitlyn Biela, Olivia Haberichter, Lucy Johnson, Althea McGreehan, Morgan Motycka, Libby Price, Alilyn Purcell, Joseph Turcotte, Annabelle Yanz (and a one-time Brandon Biolette Memorial Scholarship to Alex Schmock); The Dan Donnelly Memorial Scholarship, Olivia Haskins, Alilyn Purcell, American Legion School Award, Maxwell Folino, Alilyn Purcell; Voice of Democracy Award, Morgan Motycka; Barney’s Scholarship, Andrick Villa; Miss and Mr. New Buffalo Scholarships, Riley Cain, Olivia Haskins, Morgan Motycka, Benjamin O’Donnell, Jacob Smith, Michael Tran; National Spanish Honor Society Scholarship, Maxwell Folino; Michigan Competitive Scholarships, Sarah Baughman, Riley Cain, Bailey Ferrell, Olivia Haberichter, Lucy Johnson, Alexis Moser, Jaidyn Parmley, Libby Price, Alilyn Purcell, Alexander Schmock, Jacob Smith, Brenden Stark, Joseph Turcotte, Emma Wolf.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.